Secret Treasure

The headline read, “The Outside of This Old Florida House Looks Like a Run-Down Shack — but Hidden Inside the Walls Was a Secret Treasure“. It caught my attention and immediately took my thoughts down a surprising path.

Image via Orlando Sentinel

Image via Orlando Sentinel


The article was about a run-down shack in Florida where they found old silver coins in the walls. Apparently the previous owner had been hiding them since The Great Depression. An amazing story in itself, but it really got me thinking about why God had led me to that story.

My boys with their Great Grandmother

My boys with their Great Grandmother

I am blessed to still have 3 grandparents living and they are all in their 80s. I also know many elders in my church that I see on a regular basis. In some ways they are like the little shack in this story, they may not have their once youthful outward beauty, but there is a wealth of “treasure” to be found if you are willing to take the time and find it.

Listen to counsel and receive instruction, That you may be wise in your latter days.

Proverbs 19:20

If you are so blessed to have a member of The Greatest Generation in your life, I encourage you to take the time to sit down and just listen. Many of them have seen and experienced things we can’t even imagine; the Great Depression,  multiple wars, the Holocaust, the Civil Rights Movement, and so much more! One day they will not be around to share their experiences and wisdom with the world, so take the time now.

About Heidi S.

I spend my days growing and learning with my boys and my nights as a freelance writer and editor. I am an all-around frugal mom, always looking for ways to be a better steward with the things God has blessed us with. I am married to my high school sweetheart and have three boys - ages 14, 11, and 9. Our homeschool style is very eclectic...Charlotte Mason to classical to traditional, you will find a little bit of everything on our bookshelves.
This entry was posted in My Walk. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

