Understanding Your Voice – Children’s Choir

How many times have you asked your children’s choir to “sing out” or “project your voices” and in return were blasted with yelling?  Sometimes children, especially preschoolers have a difficult time understanding how to use their voices.

Children often don’t understand the difference between singing and talking or shouting and singing out.  A very wise preschool choir director I once worked with taught me a fun and effective way to help children understand how their voices work.   This is an activity I go to anytime I have a choir who is just not “getting it”. 

This is an echo game; you do, they do.  It is simple, yet very effective!

  1. Say, “This is my talking voice.”
  2. Whisper, “This is my whisper voice”
  3. In a legato sing-song voice, “This is my singing voice.”
  4. Shout, “This is my outside voice!”

You can do these in any order and as many times as you choose.  I like to do it throughout the year to help children remember the different sounds their voices can make.   I have personally used this for preschool-2nd grade.  You could try it on older children, whether they “need” it or not, they will certainly have fun!

Sing to Him a new song; Play skillfully with a shout of joy.  Psalm 33:3
About Heidi S.

I spend my days growing and learning with my boys and my nights as a freelance writer and editor. I am an all-around frugal mom, always looking for ways to be a better steward with the things God has blessed us with. I am married to my high school sweetheart and have three boys - ages 12, 10, and 8. Our homeschool style is very eclectic...Charlotte Mason to classical to traditional, you will find a little bit of everything on our bookshelves.
This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

