Who are We to Judge?

I hear many christians speaking hatred and contempt toward a woman who was not found guilty of murder.   As a mother, it is hard for me to understand the circumstances surrounding the case, but who am I to judge?   I am a sinner, just like eveyone else.  What makes one sin worse than another? 

As sinners, it is not our place to judge.  The Bible tells us we will all one day have to face Him, and only He is worthy of judgement. 

But why do you judge your brother? Or why do you show contempt for your brother? For we shall all stand before the judgment seat of Christ. For it is written:   “As I live, says the LORD, Every knee shall bow to Me, And every tongue shall confess to God.”  So then each of us shall give account of himself to God.                                    Romans 14:10-12  

 We do not know the truth behind this story and we may never know the truth.   I do, however know this truth…

For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have everlasting life.                                             John 3:16

This does not say For God so loved the “nice people” or “perfect people” or “sinless people”, it clearly says “For God so loved the world“! 

So, before you are so quick to judge someone else, instead pray for them and offer forgiveness. 

And whenever you stand praying, if you have anything against anyone, forgive him, that your Father in heaven may also forgive you your trespasses.                  Mark 11:25

About Heidi S.

I spend my days growing and learning with my boys and my nights as a freelance writer and editor. I am an all-around frugal mom, always looking for ways to be a better steward with the things God has blessed us with. I am married to my high school sweetheart and have three boys - ages 14, 11, and 9. Our homeschool style is very eclectic...Charlotte Mason to classical to traditional, you will find a little bit of everything on our bookshelves.
This entry was posted in My Walk. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Who are We to Judge?

  1. Amen, Amen & Amen!!!! Love it!! So true!!!

  2. Heidi says:

    I truly can relate to those who are reacting with hatred. There was a day when I would have been upset and allowed something like this to consume me. I am grateful to have the peace of Jesus flowing through me now so as to not worry with the why of things, but to accept them as God's plan.

Leave a Reply

