VBS 2011: Big Apple Adventure

One of our favorite things about summertime is VBS!  Every year I have a blast decorating my classroom.  The theme for this year(2011) was Lifeway’s Big Apple Adventure.  I have never been to New York City, so this was a challenging theme for me, but here are some of the things I did to go along with the Bible Study at Battery Park theme.

The main area of the Bible study centers around the Lifeway pack item with the VBS motto and has a “park” feel to it.  I decided to do a scaled down version of Battery Park.  I found this small bench at Kroger.  I had my eye on it for a while for my boys, when I found out I needed one for my VBS room, I broke down and bought it for $25.  It is a cute and sturdy little bench.  The “grass” is cheap indoor/outdoor carpet.  You can get it at Home Depot or Lowe’s for around 50 cents per square foot.  The “fence” is garden edging from Home Depot, about $25 for each piece.  I made the light post in the corner out of a solar walkway style light, dowel rod, oatmeal container, black construction paper and electrical tape.  I also used pebbles in the base to keep it from falling over.  The Battery park sign is modeled after the real actual Battery Park signs.  I just used black poster board and white chalk. 

This is the skyline I drew.  It is about 6 feet long and 3 feet tall.  I just used white kraft paper and pencils with erasers(lots of erasers) 🙂  This is not the NYC skyline, but one that I made up as I went.  I tried out many different shading techniques and had fun drawing it.  I have never drawn anything quite like this, but I like how it turned out.  The “sky” is a light blue tablecloth and the ‘water” is a blue tablecloth, both from the dollar store. 

I saw the idea of making a tourist viewer out of cardboard and thought I would take it a step further.  I made it with a viewmaster built in.  I found the viewmaster on eBay for $1.  I also found some 3D NYC slides for $4.  I used cardboard and duct tape to make the viewer.  The base is made with a wrapping paper tube, an oatmeal tube filled with pebbles and black construction paper. 
The traffic meter was part of one of the activities.  I glued the parking meter on a small oatmeal container covered in black construction paper.  The base was made with another small oatmeal container and wrapping paper tube covered with black construction paper. 

The door is covered in white kraft paper.  I used green poster board and made street signs with various NYC street names.  The red apples and yellow taxis add color to the door. 

Just outside the door I used a lifeway promotional poster ($1.50), then used die-cut block letters to welcome the kids to the correct class.

This is the “sidewalk” I made to go along with one of the activities.  I used paper I found at Hobby Lobby.  It has a grey textured look that resembles a sidewalk.  I used duct tape to look like the “cracks” 

About Heidi S.

I spend my days growing and learning with my boys and my nights as a freelance writer and editor. I am an all-around frugal mom, always looking for ways to be a better steward with the things God has blessed us with. I am married to my high school sweetheart and have three boys - ages 14, 11, and 9. Our homeschool style is very eclectic...Charlotte Mason to classical to traditional, you will find a little bit of everything on our bookshelves.
This entry was posted in My Walk. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to VBS 2011: Big Apple Adventure

  1. Love these ideas! I will incorporate them into the room!

Leave a Reply

