VBS 2010 :Saddle Ridge Ranch

The VBS theme for 2010 was Saddle Ridge Ranch…Roundin’ up questions, drivin’ home answers!  This theme was so much fun to decorate.  The bible study room centered around a fireplace.  Throw in some quilts, cowboy hats and a few country accents and there you have it! 

This is a close-up of the fireplace.  I used the mantle that was included in Lifeway’s 1st/2nd Grade Bible Study Pack.  The “stone” is made from grey paper that I cut into rounded rectangles and squares.  To get the textured look, I crumpled up the paper and then flattened them out.  I glued them on a square sheet of black kraft paper.  The “wood” is made with brown construction paper, I used a black marker to add detail to the wood. 



This is one of the barrels I made with a large cardboard box and black duct tape.  I made 3 of these in different sizes.  These are great for displaying lightweight items.  I also used the smallest one for a beanbag toss game! 
This is the campfire I made for the campfire day.  I used Great Stuff(spray foamy stuff that expands) to make the “rocks”.  After they dried, I painted them with grey and black paint to make them look more like rocks.  The fire is red and yellow tissue paper.  I then added sticks to make it look real. 

This is the bulletin board I made to display our class schedule.  The background is red handkerchief scrapbook paper that I found at Hobby Lobby.  I used blue handkerchief paper to make the corners.  I added some real cowboy hats  and a few extra touches.

This is a tumbleweed I made to go along with the Tumbleweed song(our favorite). I used a punch balloon, twine and glue, lots and lots of glue!  When the glue dries, you pop the balloon and you have a great looking tumbleweed!

Here are some of the other things in my room… 



Close-up of the large barrel





Cowboy Ten Commandments







About Heidi S.

I spend my days growing and learning with my boys and my nights as a freelance writer and editor. I am an all-around frugal mom, always looking for ways to be a better steward with the things God has blessed us with. I am married to my high school sweetheart and have three boys - ages 14, 11, and 9. Our homeschool style is very eclectic...Charlotte Mason to classical to traditional, you will find a little bit of everything on our bookshelves.
This entry was posted in My Walk. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

