"Screwball" a.k.a. Tracy UPDATE!

 

Thursday morning we were all getting ready for VBS when I heard Tracy, my 3 year old yell.  I knew it was a cry for help, so I ran to him and he was crying and pointing at his mouth.  I thought he had cut his gum on something he had been chewing on and in the process of trying to figure things out he told me he had been chewing on a ball. 

So we are all urgently trying to locate this ball!  I asked him if he had swallowed it and he said yes, so of course I am sent into a panic!  My first thought was that it was one of those rubber bouncing balls, but he seemed to be breathing ok, so I asked him, “what did the ball look like?”  He said it was shiny, so I immediately knew it had to be one of my older son’s magnetic balls from a roller coaster set. 

Thank God my 15 year old nephew was staying with us!  I was able to get Tracy to the ER quickly.  We got there and were taken back to a room pretty quickly.  The doctor came in after the x-ray and informed me that the ball showed up on the x-ray and it appeared to be in his stomach.  He also proceeded to inform me that there was also 2 screws in his colon! 

So, at this point I am feeling like a wonderful  mother!  Goodness, how in the world did he get these things and eat them without me knowing!  After speaking with the children’s hospital and our pediatrician, it was decided to wait it out and see if the screws and ball could pass on their own. 

The next day, we went in for another x-ray and, sure enough the screws had moved and were close to coming out.  The ball, however had not moved. 

On Friday evening, after a little help from miralax, the screws came out!  Whew…what a relief!

So the rest of the weekend, we just waited and waited and waited and waited some more.  Finally, another BM!  So I searched and searched, but there was no ball 😦 

On Monday, after 2 ER visits, a pediatrician visit, and 3 x-rays, the ball is still in his stomach.  So now we just wait and wait and wait!

If the ball does not come out naturally 1 of 2 things will happen.  1) If the ball remains in his stomach, he will have a procedure to remove it.  2) If the ball gets out of the stomach and gets stuck, it may require surgery. 

After going to Scottish Rite last night, I feel much better about everything.  The ER doctor did a good job of explaining things to me and I have a better understanding. 

Exactly 1 week after swallowing the ball, Tracy has passed it!  This is such a blessing for us!  I am so thankful that things worked out “naturally”! 

About Heidi S.

I spend my days growing and learning with my boys and my nights as a freelance writer and editor. I am an all-around frugal mom, always looking for ways to be a better steward with the things God has blessed us with. I am married to my high school sweetheart and have three boys - ages 12, 10, and 8. Our homeschool style is very eclectic...Charlotte Mason to classical to traditional, you will find a little bit of everything on our bookshelves.
This entry was posted in Life with Boys. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to "Screwball" a.k.a. Tracy UPDATE!

  1. Waiting and waiting and praying and praying with you! Love your puns throughout. You are the best Mama!

Leave a Reply

