Science Fair 2011

Thomas decided this year he wanted to make rock candy for his science fair project.   Not exactly my first choice for him since we have been studying astronomy all year, however he did do a model of the planets last year, so I decided to go with it.  🙂

Rock candy is easy to make (once you get the ideal sugar-water mixture figured out), however it was definitely a project that took lots of patience! 

We had a ton of fun experimenting with different colors and flavors and it was pretty tasty too!

We used peppermint and vanilla flavoring as well as blue and red food coloring.

There are many different websites and videos on the internet to help get started. 

  

Thomas did a great job on his display…he won second place and got the Super Science award as well!  I am very proud of all the work he put into his project and I am very thankful that he loves science as much as I do! 
About Heidi S.

I spend my days growing and learning with my boys and my nights as a freelance writer and editor. I am an all-around frugal mom, always looking for ways to be a better steward with the things God has blessed us with. I am married to my high school sweetheart and have three boys - ages 12, 10, and 8. Our homeschool style is very eclectic...Charlotte Mason to classical to traditional, you will find a little bit of everything on our bookshelves.
This entry was posted in Homeschooling. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

