New Year’s Day Dinner

It’s New Year’s Day 2011 and I am looking forward to dinner tonight with my family!  I have lived in the south for 20+ years now, but we stick to our northern roots for New Year’s dinner…no greens or black eyed peas for us 🙂 

This is some of what we have…

Stuffed pork chops

Cinnamon apples

Boiled cabbage…mom adds one of each, a quarter, dime, nickel and penny.  She says it will tell you how much wealth you will have in the coming year, but I think it is more to encourage everyone to eat their cabbage 🙂 

What are some of the highlights of your family’s New Year’s dinner?

About Heidi S.

I spend my days growing and learning with my boys and my nights as a freelance writer and editor. I am an all-around frugal mom, always looking for ways to be a better steward with the things God has blessed us with. I am married to my high school sweetheart and have three boys - ages 12, 10, and 8. Our homeschool style is very eclectic...Charlotte Mason to classical to traditional, you will find a little bit of everything on our bookshelves.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New Year’s Day Dinner

  1. Kerri says:

    We have not had a regular menu for a while. My extended family always had the collards and black-eyed peas, but since we have hung out at home the last few years, it's kind of whatever we feel like.

    Today it will probably be enchiladas 🙂

Leave a Reply

