Sigh of Relief…

I know this sounds terrible and I probably shouldn’t admit it out loud, but…

My 3rd son is a VERY active toddler to say the least(as was my 1st), so on the rare occasion he is NOT the most active child in the room I breathe a big sigh of relief!   Sometimes I feel like the worst mother in the world, but when I see or hear other children acting the way mine do at times, I get a feeling of relief that I am not the only one!


I often find him doing things like this!



If you are a parent of a strong-willed toddler, you know exactly what I am talking about…
you get those looks everywhere you go, and sometimes you even get comments like “can’t she control her children” or “she has 3 of them, doesn’t she know what causes that.   I have learned to ignore most comments and looks, but it does get to you on occasion and I have to remind myself that I am not the only one with a strong-willed toddler and that I am doing the best I can.  God has entrusted me to care for these boys so I will do what is right in the eyes of the Lord, not other people.

So, how do I know what is right in the eyes of the Lord? 

The Bible is full of parenting wisdom and encouragement and I refer often to His word. However, sometimes I struggle with knowing where to look in the Bible or how to relate scripture to my circumstances so I look to other trusted Christians for help.

Dr. James Dobson is one of my favorite authors and he has written several books about parenting that follow the guidelines of the Bible.  One of my favorites is called  The New Strong-Willed Child.  You can read a great article about strong-willed children written by Dr. Dobson here or buy the book here.  There are many other great parenting resources at Focus on the Family that you will find helpful.  For me, it is very refreshing to know that all of the resources at Focus on the Family are from a Biblical perspective

Do you have one or more strong-willed children?  If so, I think we can relate!

The Lord made Adam from the dust of the earth, but when the first toddler came along, He added electricity! 
-quoted from James Dobson’s book, Parenting Isn’t for Cowards

About Heidi S.

I spend my days growing and learning with my boys and my nights as a freelance writer and editor. I am an all-around frugal mom, always looking for ways to be a better steward with the things God has blessed us with. I am married to my high school sweetheart and have three boys - ages 14, 11, and 9. Our homeschool style is very eclectic...Charlotte Mason to classical to traditional, you will find a little bit of everything on our bookshelves.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sigh of Relief…

  1. Absolutely love the picture 🙂 Love your honesty. And thanks for sharing the great resources!

Leave a Reply

